Mac OS X 10.8.2 Is Out For New Mac Mini and MacBook Pro 13″ Owners… Problems Persist Though

If you’ve been following the saga of my wife’s new Mac Mini, you’ll know that I’ve had problems updating to Mac OS X 10.8.2. I did find out that Apple had pulled the update for these computers and there had been suggestions that there were problems with video via the HDMI port. That changed yesterday. The update has been reposted. I note that the update is about 1MB bigger based on the older version of this update that was floating around (which you should not use by the way). It’s also a different build. So there must be some fixes in this build though it’s not clear what they are other than what’s listed by Apple on the download page. But here are the areas where problems persist for my wife:

  • I was not able to download this via Software Update. I had to do it separately via the download link. That’s because I kept getting this error message when trying to do it via Software Update: “The operation couldn’t be completed (nsurlerrordomain error -1012). A Google search shows that this seems to be a common issue. Too bad there isn’t a common fix for this. I’ve tried most of the fixes suggested as this appears to be a DNS related issue. But I have not had any success. There’s also the suggestion that this is an Apple issue, but I have no way of confirming this. Update to come.
  • HDMI issues weren’t fixed. Intel says that a fix is inbound. But they don’t say when.

Thus, we’ll have to wait to see how those items play out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

